Skip to content

Redefining ‘Treasure’

February 9, 2012

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys the field” Matthew 13:44, NKJV

  The verse above contains what’s often called the Parable of the Treasure in the Field.  I don’t know how many times I’ve read it and heard preachers reference it, but every time it’s explained to me it’s been like this: The treasure is salvation and once we find it we forsake all and embrace God.  But is that really it?  Did I forsake all before I embraced Him?  Surely I repented, but I didn’t empty myself of possessions and divorce myself of everything I found meanigful, did I?  I’m looking at it and I’m seeing something else…

  A few verses before this parable Jesus is explaining another parable and He says “The field is the world” (v38).  If that holds true for this parable then I think it goes something like this: The kingdom of Heaven is like this – there was a treasure in the world, and God saw that treasure and wanted it.  So God rid Himself of everything He had; He humbled Himself (Phil 2:7), robed Himself in flesh (1Tim 3:16), entered this world and joyfully purchased the treasure with His own blood (1Peter 1:19).  But what’s the treasure?

  You!  God made humanity and pronounced it was “very good” (Gen 1:31), but we soon fell into sin.  But it didn’t change the value He assigned us.  God looks at you and still sees a treasure.  Every life is important.  Every life has value.  Though sin has robbed many lives of their beauty, it has not diminished their worth.  God purchases broken lives because they are treasures still.  He buys hearts filled with shame and regret because they are valuable to Him.  He wants to restore them to His image.  Your life is a treasure.

  I encourage you today to face your problems with this truth: I’m a treasure purchased by God, and He will not allow His investment to be stolen, squandered or spent!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

