Skip to content

The Advantage of a Disadvantage

February 16, 2012

Fear thou not, for I am with thee: be not dismayed, for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee, yea I will uphold thee…they that war against thee shall be as nothing, and as a thing of nought.  For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee “Fear not, for I will help thee” Isaiah 41:10; 12-13

Here God is assuring the prophet that when the enemy arises against us, God would calm our fears, increase our strength, provide us victory, and hold our hand.  Pretty reassuring and encouraging stuff, to say the least.  But as I read this I had a question: if I’m fighting a war, why would God hold my right hand?

Ninety percent of all people are right handed (Klass, 2011).  So if I’m engaging my enemy in a fight I should want my right hand free, to swing a sword and chunk a spear, right?  I mean,. it would put me at a terrible disadvantage to bind my right hand as I fight, wouldn’t it?  It would nearly assure my defeat, because I’d give the enemy such a large advantage.

Not at all! “For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds” (2Cor 10:4, ASV).  When God holds my fighting hand I have a supreme advantage: God must then fight for me!

The apparent disadvantage of having my fighting hand bound is that I can’t fight the enemy.  The advantage is God’s hand isn’t bound, and the One whose never known defeat will come to my defense.  Don’t think “God’s holding me back”, but instead “God’s got my back”.

Blessings,

Battlefield Priest

Reference:

Klass, P. (2011), On the left hand there are no easy answers. New York Times, March 6, 2011

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

